Minister of Social Services and Community Health, Hon. Helen Hunley Minister of Business Development and Tourism, Hon. Robert W. Dowling Minister of Recreation, Parks and Wildlife, Hon. J.A. Adair

Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Dick Johnston

Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Hon. Graham Harle

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Marvin Moore Minister of Education, Hon. Julian Koziac Minister without portfolio (Native Affairs), Hon. Robert Bogle

Minister without portfolio, Hon. Stu McCrae Associate Minister for Energy and Natural Resources in charge of Public Lands and Minister without portfolio, Hon. Dallas Schmidt.

## 3.3.1.10 British Columbia

The government of British Columbia consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a Legislative Assembly. On March 19, 1973 the Honourable Walter Stewart Owen took office as lieutenant-governor. The Legislative Assembly has 55 members who are elected for a term not to exceed five years. As at November 1, 1977 the assembly consisted of 35 Social Credit members, 18 New Democrats, one Liberal and one Progressive Conservative.

Each member of the executive council and the Legislative Assembly receives an annual allowance of \$16,000 and an annual expense allowance of \$8,000. In addition, the premier is paid an annual salary of \$28,000, each cabinet minister (with portfolio) \$24,000 and each member of the executive council without portfolio \$21,000. The leader of the opposition and the speaker receive special expense allowances of \$19,000; the deputy speaker and the leader of a recognized political party, \$8,500.

The Executive Council of British Columbia in November 1977

Premier, President of the Council, Hon. William R. Bennett

Provincial Secretary, Deputy Premier and Minister of Travel Industry, Hon. Grace M.

Minister of Finance, Hon. Evan Wolfe Attorney General, Hon. Garde B. Gardom Minister of Health, Hon. Robert H. McClelland Minister of Human Resources, Hon. William. N. Vander Zalm

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. James J. Hewitt Minister of Economic Development, Hon. Donald M. Phillips

Minister of Labour, Hon. L. Allan Williams Minister of Mines and Petroleum Resources. Hon. James R. Chabot

Minister of Forests, Hon. Thomas M. Waterland

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon. Hugh A. Curtis

Minister of Education, Hon. Pat L. McGeer Minister of Environment, Hon. James A.

Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Hon. Kenneth Rafe Mair

Minister of Energy, Transport and Communication, Hon. John (Jack) Davis Minister of Highways and Public Works, Hon. Alex V. Fraser

Minister of Recreation and Conservation, Hon. Robert Samuel Bawlf.

## 3.3.2 Territorial governments

## 3.3.2.1 Yukon Territory

The constitution for the government of the Yukon Territory is based on two federal statutes: the Yukon Act (RSC 1970, c.Y-2) and the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c.25). The Yukon Act provides for a commissioner as head of government and for a legislative body called the Yukon Legislative Council. Under the Government Organization Act, the minister of Indian affairs and northern development is responsible (with the Governor-in-Council) for directing the commissioner in the administration of the territory.

The executive level of the Yukon government consists of the commissioner and an executive committee. The Office of the Commissioner incorporates several functions: head of the territorial government and senior representative of the Indian affairs and northern development department in the Yukon Territory. The commissioner performs duties similar to those of a lieutenant-governor in relation to the legislature.

In administering the territorial government the commissioner is assisted by the executive committee, which is modelled on a cabinet structure. The committee is